Back in the saddle

Hello, friends! It’s been quite a while since I posted here. But after trying out a career in PR, getting married, and leaving said PR career to follow my creative dreams, I think the time has come to dust off the ol’ blog.

I’m sure I’ll write more about my career transition at some point, but for now I’ll just say that I took a leap and left my stable, corporate job with great benefits to be broke and write a book.

Oh! What’s your book about? people always ask. And I get a little shy and say it’s a memoir, then try to steer the conversation in another direction. Then they usually look at me sideways and ask, Wait…how old ARE you? You can’t be old enough to write a memoir.  And I say I’m 28 and YOU DON’T KNOW ME. Well, maybe not that last part. I usually laugh a little and explain that I’m writing about the last five years of my life, because I think I have a story worth telling. And I leave it at that, and let them ponder how mysterious I am. 

So far, my experience of life as a writer has mostly consisted of sitting on the couch in my pajamas, feeling anxious and trying to stave off the panic with episodes of Ugly Betty. But occasionally, I trick myself into sitting in front of the computer and actually typing some words. And then the next morning, I look back at what I wrote the day before and discover that (shockingly!) it’s not that terrible after all, and I keep going. Those are good days.

But mostly, Ugly Betty.

Every successful writer says that the key is writing every day. And I’m sure that’s true, but it’s taking some time for me to find my own rhythm. Am I a morning writer who wakes up early to spend a few hours working before life has a chance to distract me? Or do I operate better on a flexible schedule, stealing time each day to write in between other commitments? I don’t know the answer yet, and the days bring so many seemingly important distractions from what I’ve set out to do. I’m committed to finding my own writing rhythm, though, and despite the financial stress this endeavor has put on Luke and me and the ambiguous future ahead, I’ve never been more sure I’m in exactly the right place.

If you’re interested in keeping tabs on how my writing adventure is going and reading my rants about any and everything, check back here a few times a week. And don’t be surprised if the blog’s appearance changes a little from time to time. WordPress themes are not my favorite thing in the world, and I’m still working out the kinks.

